6 comments on “The Epic Soft Drink Battle!

  1. Hi Mark,
    I was drawn to your post title because I am a major proponent of Coke. In fact, I am probably going to go crack one open the minute I finish typing this. This is a good topic because so many people are one-or-the-other, and rarely both. I would prefer water over pepsi even if I was in the mood for a soft drink. I am also from Atlanta, the birth place of Coke, so it feels close to home. I have to say though, that I have never liked either page of Facebook or followed on twitter, and from an exposure standpoint, I still see Cokes classic red signs a lot more. I see more ads, more sponsorships, and more locations serving the product. So I can only assume their social media is “more” as well. I have thought before though, that Coke is extremely clever with its initiatives and ways to get people involved. Like this Coke vending machine commercial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqT_dPApj9U
    Great post! – Monnie Leigh

  2. How interesting that Coke is so much further ahead in Facebook fans, but Pepsi leads the way, even if marginally, on Twitter. I’m intrigued by that statistic. Apparently Coke fans also prefer Facebook over Twitter! Pepsi does have its own place in American nostalgia. You see it in more of the mom and pop restaurants and they are quite often the drink sponsors for local high school sports teams (they usually sell Pepsi products at the football games!). Apparently, they are also making their mark in reaching out to Millennials (who most often use Twitter!), as was evidenced by their recent campaign, Live For Now. This SocialMediaToday article shed some interesting light on their intentionality: http://socialmediatoday.com/synecoretech/509355/5-ways-pepsis-use-social-media-right

  3. You make a great point in stating that Coke focuses on moments and memories. Many of the commercials you see are of people dancing on a beach with Coke in hand or playing sports. The company also uses music to connect with consumers. We all know that music triggers memories as well. Creating a platform to connect these two stylings is an excellent way to drive consumer engagement. Great post!

  4. I too am a fan of Coke. It’s not like I have never tried Pepsi to see what their hype was all about. When it comes down to image, engagement and ultimately taste, I’d rather have a Coke. I was not surprised that Coke had trounced Pepsi on Facebook, nor the fact that both company’s Twitter were close. Pepsi has tried to target younger generations in order to build loyalty in their young future customers. That may be why they focus on being good for all events. As for me, I’d like to teach the world to sing, in perfect harmony!

  5. …Coke end of story. I literally has this discussion with my family not too long ago and we were saying that not only the taste is better but we feel a certain attachment to the product because it is what we we had at our house growing up. My grandparents to my parents down to my brother and sister are all fans of Coca-Cola. On the side of their marketing I feel like Coca-Cola does such a great job really getting to know the people of the area they are selling to and playing into the culture. I researched Coke for a previous class and found how involved they are with not only the marketing in the US but all over the world. This makes me think that they stand behind this classic American drink and really take the time to sell what they believe in. Like you said, they are selling moments and memories rather than just a product.

Leave a Reply

